Skip to main content


It is with great pleasure and honor that we invite our colleagues from around the world to Seoul, South Korea, for the 28th IPSA World Congress of Political Science.

The Congress will provide you with a prime opportunity to debate the timely and pressing issues that the global political science community faces today and connect with local, regional, and global scholars. In addition to plenaries, general tracks, research committee tracks, and special events organized by IPSA, the Local Organizing Committee (LOC) will feature a variety of  tracks, such as Asian Politics, International Relations of East Asia, Emerging Issues in Asia, and three Korean Political Science Association (KPSA) tracks on Korean Politics. Other special LOC tracks include partner sessions sponsored by major public and academic institutions in South Korea and a collaborative track involving KPSA, JPSA (Japanese Political Science Association), and CAPS (Chinese Association of Political Science, Taipei). To demonstrate our commitment and support for the advancement of the global political science community, the LOC will secure and allocate funds for travel grants to be awarded to our colleagues from the Global South, in accordance with the criteria established by IPSA.

The call for proposals is from 10 July to 5 November 2024.

We will be welcoming you at the COEX, Korea's premier conference venue, located in the vibrant Gangnam area, a prime and bustling district in the southern part of Seoul, yet close to the city center. The same Gangnam as in the song "Gangnam Style." We hope it will also be a great opportunity for you to visit other beautiful places in the country.

We look forward to seeing you in Seoul in July 2025!

Local Organizing Committee (LOC)


  • Euiyoung Kim | 김의영 (Seoul National University)
  • Sunghack Lim | 임성학 (University of Seoul)
  • Ajin Choi | 최아진 (Yonsei University)
  • Bumsoo Kim | 김범수 (Seoul National University) 

Honorary Chairs

  • Hong-koo Lee | 이홍구 (Seoul National University)
  • Dalchoong Kim | 김달중 (Yonsei University)
  • Jin Park | 박진 (Former Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Republic of Korea)

Board Advisors

  • Sung-Joo Han | 한승주 (Korea University)
  • Hak-Joon Kim | 김학준 (Seoul National University)
  • Chung-In Moon | 문정인 (Yonsei University)
  • Hyug Baeg Im | 임혁백 (Korea University)
  • Chan Wook Park | 박찬욱 (Seoul National University)

Special Members

  • Kensuke Takayasu (Waseda University, 2025 JPSA President)
  • Masahisa Endo (Waseda University, Secretary General of JPSA)
  • Kenneth McElwain (University of Tokyo)
  • Gento Kato (Meiji University)
  • Min-Hua Huang (National Taiwan University, 2025 CAPS President)
  • Chi-Hsien Kuo (National Taiwan University, Executive Secretary of CAPS)


  • Wonbin Cho | 조원빈 (Sungkyunkwan University)
  • Heesick Choi | 최희식 (Kookmin University)
  • Hyun Jin Choi | 최현진 (Kyunghee University)
  • Min Hee Go | 고민희 (Ewha Womans University)
  • JongBub Kim | 김종법 (Daejeon University)
  • Nam Kyu Kim | 김남규 (Korea University, Chair of LOC Executive Committee)
  • Hee-Ok Lee | 이희옥 (Sungkyunkwan University)
  • Jaemook Lee | 이재묵 (Hankuk University of Foreign Studies)
  • Jae-Seung Lee | 이재승 (Korea University)
  • Jung-Chul Lee | 이정철 (Seoul National University)
  • So Young Lee | 이소영 (Daegu University)
  • Sujin Lim | 임수진 (Daegu Catholic University)
  • Hiroki Miura (Seoul National University)
  • Kyungyon Moon | 문경연 (Jeonbuk National University)
  • Brandon Beomseob Park | 박범섭 (Soongsil University)
  • Hyun-Jin Seo | 서현진 (Sungshin Women’s University)
  • Byungwon Woo | 우병원 (Yonsei University)
  • Seongeun Yun (Seoul National University)